Category Archives: Dogs for Adoption

Prince Chewy

Hello big world! I’ve been named Prince Chewy and I’m a 9-month-old Chihuahua.

Long story short, I was sold to someone online, but being very skittish and not good with the house cats, I was gone within a week.

I’m super affectionate, and get along with other Chihuahuas, but will need a bit of work on structure for house training.

I’m not barky and can stay home alone, BUT I need lots of chew toys! I have chewed the remote, and a couple of gadgets laying around, hence my original name of Chewy!

I could be good with kids if kids are good with me. 

If you think I could be your next best friend, put in your application.

To apply, visit and follow the procedure to obtain an application form.


I was named Bravy by my rescuer in Lebanon! 

I’m a 6 year old female Lab mix. I was found in Lebanon as a stray, and I don’t remember my past, but I know for sure I have been through a lot.

As a stray in Lebanon, I was used for target practice and became blind in one eye. I have to tell you that I get around very well, it doesn’t affect me, just my look.

I walk fairly well on leash, I’m housetrained, I do well with people and dogs, but have not been tested with cats.

I also love car rides and have no problems getting around.

I love the attention, so I can be a bit jealous if other dogs are around, so I would prefer to be the only pet! I love playing with other dogs, but I don’t want a roommate.

If you want to make me part of your family, visit and follow the procedure to obtain an application form.


Hello there hoomans! My name is Barney and I’m a 10 yr old Yorkie in excellent health. Even my teeth look good! I’m as sweet as I am cute and I’m a very good boy with other dogs and everyone I meet. As for cats, I would only be suitable to live with them if they are already used to dogs. I walk well on leash, I am not a barker inside nor do I bark at people or dogs I see outside but stray cats are another thing, I can stay home alone and I have absolutely no behavioural issues. I love car rides and playing with my squeaky toys. If you say the word TREAT, I’m all ears! 

I used to live in a very peaceful home with an elderly lady who adored me and took pristine care of me. My new home should be one where I will be able to live out my golden years in peace and comfort. I’m used to pipi pads but only need them at night or when you leave. I will ask for the door when you’re home like a big boy. Keep in mind us older dogs need to go potty several times a day. Sometimes, I just ask for the door because I love spending time in the yard and chase squirrels. LOL! I also come with a few adorable coats and sweaters. I love getting dressed up because I know when I look extra cute. 

To apply, visit and follow the procedure to obtain an application form.


My name is SIA and I am deaf but that doesn’t lit me.

I’m a 2.5-year-old English Setter who came from Lebanon where I was found tied in a bag, and thrown away like a piece of garbage, possibly because I was not a good working dog. I am extremely sweet despite my unknown past and my fur is as soft as velvet!

I’m an eager girl, social with people, kids and most dogs, (but can be in my own world sniffing and exploring).

I enjoy playtime and cuddles and make my foster family laugh every day with my silliness.

I currently live with a dog-savvy cat and the cat is the boss in our relationship. If there is a cat in my new family, please know it will take me time to work out our relationship.

I am house-trained, but I have my routine outside and need time to relax to do my thing. I would thrive in an active home that can provide me with ongoing structure and training. 

Hiking, biking, and brain games would all make me a very happy girl. 

I would make a good family dog with older kids, or with a couple. I am very food-driven which makes training easy. However, when I’m outside, the distractions can be too much for me to focus and may choose to not obey.

A securely fenced yard is a must for me as Setters are known to follow our noses if left unattended. Knowing my breed would be an asset to my new family!

If you think you’d like to give me a chance despite my hearing loss, visit and follow the procedure to obtain an application form.


My name is Choopie, but I’m also known as Max. Obviously, I’m a male. I’m 3 years old and of the Spitz family.

I came from Lebanon back in 2021 as an International adoption, but here we are, a year and a half later and I’m looking for a new home.

I’m super cute, super friendly with everyone, great with dogs and even young kids. But I also became the boss of my home as they were so nice. I had my family wrapped around my little finger.

Us little cuties know how to manipulate and use our teeth when we’re not happy. So at first, I observed and learned. Since they felt sorry for me, I was given so much love! I loved it, I loved them, I even loved their dog! They wanted to make me happy, and they did!

But with time, I decided I was going to lead this pack so things would always go my way! 

Well, that didn’t work out so as planned. They didn’t care for my biting much, so here I am with Sophie’s Dog Adoption getting restructured. 

Sophie says “No more manipulating my new family”, so I will need to be super structured and you’ll need to be in charge. Otherwise, I will take charge again, and it looks like biting instead of saying “no”, is not really tolerated!

I’m learning while in foster care, but you will need to continue with the structure. I’m small enough not to overpower you, so teach me right from wrong and I’ll make you proud.

As all dogs do, I want to make you happy and become your best friend. But just like children, I need structure and discipline as well as love.

To apply, visit and follow the procedure to obtain an application form.


I’m Drake, and even though I’m no rapper, I too have a talent. I’m missing a leg, and I can run and play as well as anyone!

I’m a survivor of the horrendous streets of the Middle East, and I’m hoping to find a wonderful home who won’t see my missing limb as a reason to pass me up.

I’m about 3 years old, was found with my leg already missing, and it was so traumatic I cannot remember what happened! But I am a survivor and just LOVE people. My mix is totally unknown, it’s anybody’s guess. Might have a little Husky, not sure.

I’m ok with kids, super gentle and good with dogs and getting used to the cat in my foster home.

If you think you’d like to make me a member of your family, visit and follow the procedure to obtain an application form.

Big Buddy

Big Buddy is my name, and English Bulldog/French Poodle is my mix of breeds. They dared sold me as a Boodle. Such an insult.

I’m 2 years old, and a wonderful buddy to the kids in my home, but unfortunately, I do not like them bringing their friends over. I have snapped and therefore am looking for a home with a different environment.

I basically need to learn not to “protect” my house, as I’m not keen on strangers of any age coming over.

I was purchased at 7 weeks because our mom rejected us and so we were all sold at that young age.

I’m a wonderful dog, super friendly and affectionate, not at all destructive, not a barker, and live my “kid” siblings, but Dad thinks I’m just not a good fit anymore.

I need to leave soon, so please consider fostering me with or without the possibility of adoption.

To apply, visit and follow the procedure to obtain an application form.

Hawaiian Chico

Aloha Canada! I’m Hawaiian Chico, and I just arrived from a shelter in Hawaii where I spent most of my life 

I’m about 3 years old, most likely a Catahoula mix, but Sophie thinks I may have some coonhound.

I’m super gentle, very shy still but doing well in my foster home, which consists of 4 humans, 4 dogs and one cat.

I would probably be fine with kids over 8, as I’m a very gentle soul.

I’m looking to finally have a home, with people who will love me forever. I’m used to getting love at the shelter, but from staff and volunteers who leave at the end of the day.

I want my own bed, my own family, my own “house” and maybe a yard. It’s the American Dream, and I think I can reach it in Canada. After all, we’re “neighbours”.

To apply, visit and follow the procedure to obtain an application form.


The adoption process through Sophie’s Dog Adoptions consists of filling out an application form to adopt, a full screening is done to ensure that the dogs I place will in fact be going to good, forever homes. These dogs have been through a lot already, and don’t deserve to come back again and again. The right family / person is out there for each dog. The process can sometimes be longer than with other rescue groups or organizations, but an animal is for life and it should not be something to rush into. Once I am satisfied that the family/person meets the criteria to adopt one of my dogs, then the adoption is finalized with a contract. ADOPTING A PET IS NOT SOMETHING TO TAKE LIGHTLY, IT IS, IN MY OPINION, THE SAME AS ADOPTING A CHILD.


My name is Bunny and I “hopped” on a flight out of Hawaii to come to Canada for a chance at a good life.

I’m about 2 years old, my breed mix is unknown but I weigh a good 60 lbs.  I was living in a shelter in Hawaii that had become overcrowded and lacks funds, so life there had become not so great.

I have discovered a dog bed, and human attention, and can drink water when I want! The simple things Canadian dogs have.

I’m super sweet, and gentle with everyone, and would be good with kids too.

Cats and Chihuahuas, not so sure yet. I would need to learn cohabitation with them. 

If you think I could be the one for you, please put in your application by visiting

Continue reading Bunny


I’m Rain and I was found on the highway in the pouring rain in Beirut last year and was flown to Montreal in April 2022 for a chance at a good life.

Even though I’ve been in foster care for a year, I am still super nervous. I’m not used to human contact, so I’m looking for a home that will give me time to adjust to my new life.

I’m scared but not aggressive, however, touching me is a thing I still don’t like. Not having ever had a collar or leash, it’s been a challenge. I don’t like being grabbed by the collar, and I still hate the idea of a leash. I just don’t move.

So I need a home with a fully fenced-in yard so I can go in and out on my own. I’m good with dogs but show mild resource guarding with my food. I could possibly live with older kids and a cat.

I’ve been crate trained, but I am fine being left alone. It may be a good idea at the beginning when you’re out just in case.

I’m about 3 years old with a lifetime of learning still to come. I am clean in the house and will scratch at the door to go out. I enjoy being outside now that it’s getting warm. You must supervise me however as I tend to flee. I always look sad. I recently had puppies when I was found but my rescuers were unsuccessful in locating them. It is very important that you do not feel sorry for me, however. I need you to be confident and surround me with positive energy so I can feed that off of you.

If you think I’m the one you want to love and help become the balanced and fulfilled pooch I deserve to be, visit and follow the procedure to obtain an application form.